Saturday, June 28, 2008

Jainist Beliefs And Practices

Jainist Beliefs And Practices Cover
The universe exists as a series of layers, both heavens and hells. It had no beginning and will have no ending. It consists of:

- The supreme abode: This is located at the top of the universe and is where Siddha, the liberated souls, live.
- The upper world: 30 heavens where celestial beings live.
- Middle world: the earth and the rest of the universe.
- Nether world: 7 hells with various levels of misery and punishments
- The Nigoda, or base: where the lowest forms of life reside
- Universe space: layers of clouds which surround the upper world
- Space beyond: an infinite volume without soul, matter, time, medium of motion or medium of rest.

- Everyone is bound within the universe by one's karma -- the accumulated evil deeds that one has done. (The Jainist definition of karma differs from the Hindu and Buddhist meaning. To a follower of Jainism, all karma is bad. To Hindus and Buddhists, karma can result from a good or a bad deed.)

- Moksha (liberation from an endless succession of lives through reincarnation) is achieved by enlightenment, which can be attained only through asceticism.

- Jainism is based on three general principles called the three Ratnas (jewels). They are:
- Right faith.
- Right knowledge.
- Right action.

- They are expected to follow five principles of living:
- Ahimsa: "non violence in all parts of a person -- mental, verbal and physical." 3 Committing an act of violence against a human, animal, or even vegetable generates negative karma which in turn adversely affects one's next life.
- Satya: speaking truth; avoiding falsehood
- Asteya: to not steal from others
- Brahma-charya: (soul conduct); remaining sexually monogamous to one's spouse only
- Aparigraha: detach from people, places and material things. Avoiding the collection of excessive material possessions, abstaining from over-indulgence, restricting one's needs, etc.

- Jains follow a vegetarian diet. (At least one information source incorrectly states that they follow a frutarian diet -- the practice of only eating that which will not kill the plant or animal from which it is taken. e.g. milk, fruit, nuts.)

- They often read their sacred texts daily.

- Jains are recommended to pass through four stages during their lifetime:
- Brahmacharya-ashrama: the life of a student
- Gruhasth-ashrama: family life
- Vanaprasth-ashrama: family and social services
- Sanyast-ashrama: life as a monk; a period of renunciation

Also read this ebooks:

Frater Fp - Sigils In Theory And Practice
Aleister Crowley - Magick In Theory And Practice
Anonymous - Wicca Beliefs And Practices

Tags: journal experimental  witch names  pagan circle  scott cunningham