Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Major Sects Of Tibetan Buddhism

Major Sects Of Tibetan Buddhism Cover Present Tibetan Buddhism can be divided into four sects: Nyingmapa, Kagyupa, Gelugpa, and Sakyapa.

Nyingmapa means 'old' in Tibetan. Nyingmapa is the oldest sect in Tibetan Buddhism. It is also called 'Red sect' because monks in this sect always wear red monk hats. The Kagyupa sect was created in the middle of 11th century, and it is famous for having the most branches in Tibetan Buddhism. Sutra debating, Sera MonasteryIt is called 'white sect' because monks belonging to this sect wear white robes and their temples are painted white. In 14th century, Tsong Khapa created Gelugpa sect. This sect encourages monks to live an austere and unselfish life. Monks of this sect wear yellow hats, so it is called 'yellow sect'. In Tibetan, sakyapa means 'colorful'. Temples of the Sakyapa sect are painted in red, white and black stripes, symbolizing Manjusri Bodhisattva, Avalokitesvara and Vajradhara, so it is called the 'colorful sect'.

Lamas playing with mobile phone, Jokhang TempleThere are many Tibetan Buddhist monasteries in China, which are worth visiting to experience authentic Tibetan Buddhist culture. Famous Tibetan Buddhist monasteries include: Drepung Monastery, Ganden Monastery, Labrang Monastery, Sakya Monastery, Sera Monastery, Ta'er Monastery and Tashilhunpo Monastery.

You also can download this ebooks:

Phil Hine - Aspects Of Evocation
Phil Hine - Aspects Of Tantra